Faculty of Preventive Medicine

The Faculty of Preventive Medicine was founded in 1930. It was one of the first schools in the world to provide training to hygienists and epidemiologists. Today the faculty is comprised of 25 chairs.

The Faculty of Preventive Medicine provides undergraduate education in Preventive Medicine. The degree is granted to students after the completion of their 6-year degree program. About 150 students graduate each year.


The Faculty of Preventive Medicine also provides postgraduate training: internship and residency.

Some chairs also offer PhD fellowships, with the PhD program lasting 3-4 years, and other doctoral programs.

The Faculty is headed by Prof. Yuri V. Nesvizhskiy, M.D., member of the Russian Academy of Medical and Technical Sciences.

The faculty includes professors, academicians and corresponding members of the Russian Academy of Medical Sciences. Most faculty members have PhD or Doctor of Medicine research degrees.

Graduates usually pursue their careers in the Federal service on customers' rights protection and human well-being surveillance (Rospotrebnadzor), hospitals, epidemiology laboratories, and research institutes.


  1. Chair of Aviation and Space Medicine
  2. Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  3. Chair of Infectious Diseases
  4. Chair of History of Medicine, National History and Culturology
  5. Chair of Medical Informatics and Statistics
  6. Chair of Microbiology, Virology and Immunology
  7. Chair of Public Health
  8. Chair of Internal Medicine and Occupational Medicine
  9. Chair of Surgery
  10. Chair of Human Ecology and Environmental Hygiene
  11. Chair of Epidemiology
  12. Chair of Medical Law
  13. Chair of Chemistry
  14. Chair of General Hygiene
  15. Chair of Tropical Medicine and Parasitic Diseases

The following chairs provide continuing education programs in preventive medicine:

  1. Chair of Virology
  2. Chair of Hygiene
  3. Chair of Nutritional Hygiene and Toxicology
  4. Chair of Disinfectology
  5. Chair of Railway Hygiene
  6. Chair of Infectology
  7. Chair of Labour Medicine
  8. Chair of Parasitology, Parasitic and Tropical Diseases
  9. Chair of Social Hygiene and Organization of Sanitary and Epidemiological Surveillance
  10. Chair of Epidemiology